My experience on Banana Island for 5 days!

I counted 72 bananas in my freezer….that´s a lot! Plus, I also had about 30 fresh bananas that were getting pretty ripe. I needed to eat those bananas because there was no more space in the freezer and I didn´t want the fresh bananas to go bad. Thus, I decided to go on Banana Island for about 3 days…but they quickly turned into 5 whole days of eating just bananas and some greens such as cucumber, zucchini and romaine lettuce because they are my favorite!

IMG_0982

How does Banana Island work?

You only consume one fruit for about 3-12 days or even longer if you want to. You can do this with any fruit like mangoes, oranges, melons, bananas or durian would even be amazing. I chose bananas because I had so many! Sometimes people also add 1 or 2 types of greens, such as lettuce, kale, celery, cucumber, spinach or zucchini at one meal during the day. Remember to eat RIPE fruit ONLY (spotted and brown bananas, soft mangoes etc).

There are no calorie restrictions, eat until you are full and satisfied! You get to eat all the bananas you want, about 17-40 bananas is pretty normal for people. Drink up to 3 liters of water every day to stay hydrated. Every day should start with water to flush out the toxins. Remember to rest if you feel tired. Since your body is detoxing it is important to get enough sleep and rest if your body needs it. Aim for 7-12 hours of sleep per night.

IMG_0967

I have done Banana Island twice before. The longest I have only eaten bananas is about 7-8 days. After 7 days I get pretty tired of eating only bananas and I start to miss the variety in my diet so I stop. This time was the first time I had some greens in my dinner and I also included the daily green boost powder and sometimes I added carob powder to my banana ice cream, yum!
IMG_1018

So why did I go on Banana Island?

First of all, I had to get rid of those bananas quickly and this was the best solution that I found since my family doesn´t eat bananas. Second, I enjoy having simplicity in my diet every know and then, it makes my meals simple and I always know what I am going to have for my next meal. Third, my digestion gets so much better after completing Banana Island because I have given my digestion a time to heal because it was only digestion one food those whole 5 days. Even just eating one mono meal per day can slowly and gradually help you get a better digestion since your only digesting one food.

IMG_0983 IMG_0984

There are many health benefits that people have experienced on Banana Island:

– Efficient and quick detox for the body

– Perfect way to switch to a low fat raw lifestyle

– Gives your digestion a chance to digest only one fruit and thus it expends energy

– Healing and recovery from various diseases such as diabetes and cancer

– Weight loss

– More energy and vitality

– More balance and better mood

– Helps to end cravings

– Mind clarity

– Better and deeper sleep

– More focus through out the day

– Clear skin, whiter eyes, stronger nails and shinier hair

Sounds good, right? If you would like to experience any or all of the health benefits listed above I think you should give Banana Island a try and see how it works for you.

IMG_1001 IMG_0998

So how was my experience on Banana Island?

Better than ever! Since it was the first time adding greens and the daily green boost powder on Banana Island for me I got more variety and it was easier and more fun to eat all those bananas. My skin broke out a bit, that is a sign of detox and I was happy about it. I was the only one that could tell that my skin broke out so it was nothing to worry about in my opinion. I got some small headaches every know and then which is also a sign of detox. I relaxed plenty and slept like an angel every night for 7-9 hours. I lost a little bit of weight and I was happy about it even though I don´t have to lose more weight. I was very happy the whole time I ate bananas and my mood got better and better with every banana I ate. I enjoyed being fat free since I have been adding more fat to my diet recently and I think it was a perfect way to get lower in fat again.

IMG_1017

I hope you enjoyed this blog and that you try out Banana Island or any other Mono Fruit Island in the future!

much love,

Lilja Líf

4 thoughts on “My experience on Banana Island for 5 days!

  1. Love this post! 🙂 I just started with banana island today. I am not a fan of bananas, that is probably the reason why I haven’t done a banana island yet (even though I have been a low-fat raw vegan for a few years now). Most of the days I eat mono meals, though. 😉

    Like

Leave a comment